|
In addition to the library’s own Anders
Web Library and printed collections, the library has a number of
on-line databases, CD-ROMs in diskette- and net-format, as well as in the
Internet. Some of the CD-ROM databases are also available for customers in
the libraries’ workstations.
Most of the databases are so-called reference databases,
i.e. they contain information on catalogue details, availability, and,
sometimes, short resumes of books, articles and other materials, but not
the actual contents, such as full texts of the articles.
ALEKSI
Aleksi contains references to articles published in 250 Finnish
periodicals and chronicles as well as in 12 newspapers. Periodical
articles date back to 1982, and newspaper articles to 1996. The database
contains more than 200 000 references, and its annual accumulation is c.20
000 references. Aleksi has a commercial WWW-connection
(can be used at library's workstations).
LINDA
Linda is the research libraries’ joint LINNEA-catalogue. (LINNEA: the
National information network for libraries in Finland)
The Linda-database contains the Finnish Bibliography, and information
on books, magazines and serials, maps, as well as AV-materials stored in
the library databases of 22 institutes of higher education, the repository
library, and the Parliament Library.
Information on domestic materials is comprehensively recorded since the
1920s. Information on foreign books printed before 1980 is not
comprehensive as yet. Information on magazines and serial publications
begins, for the most part, from the 1970s.
LINDA is also available in the Internet
(can be used at library's workstations).
LINDA does not contain information on a publication's availability.
This has to be checked from each institution’s own database.
Further information on research and specialised libraries are to be
found in the
guide to the Scientific Libraries in Finland.
FENNICA
Fennica is the Finnish National Bibliography. Fennica offers a WWW-connection.
It contains information on Finnish publications, in Finnish, written by
Finnish authors, and materials about Finland. The database covers
information from 1910 (at the end of 1997 from 1828), and magazines from
1782. The database also contains 530 000 titles (January 1997), and its
annual accumulation is c. 55 000 titles. It also contains advance
information on forthcoming domestic publications. |